- November 22, 2023
- Posted by: Robert Katz
- Category: Accident Laywer
Worker’s compensation is a type of insurance that provides medical care and financial coverage for a Pennsylvania employee who gets injured during the performance of their work duties. Filing a claim has to be done promptly, both employer and insurer have to agree the claim is valid, and the employee has to receive treatment from an approved provider to get coverage. An employee can file for work-related health issues including injuries, illnesses, and repetitive stress injuries.
The process is designed to be straightforward, but sometimes it’s more complicated when private insurance companies are involved. Insurers do what they can to reduce the amount of money they pay out, which makes it necessary to talk to a personal injury lawyer serving Philadelphia, PA to ensure you get what you’re entitled to by law. The following is a look at what you can expect when filing a worker’s compensation claim.
What Happens After You’ve Reported Your Worker’s Compensation Claim
According to the Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry, you have to be disabled for more than seven consecutive days before you start receiving money. The seven days include weekend days, and the benefits can be paid out on the eighth day after an injury is reported. After you’ve been off work for 14 days, you can get paid for the first seven days you were unable to work.
Health Provider Requirements
You’re allowed to use your personal healthcare provider up until the time your employer accepts your claim. After the claim is accepted, you are required to visit a healthcare provider that’s listed by your employer or insurance company. The list has a minimum of six physicians that you can see for ongoing care, and the employer can’t make you visit a healthcare provider of their choosing.
Once you’ve selected a provider and had an initial visit with them, you are required to see them or another provider for 90 days. Once the 90 days have passed, you can see a provider of your choosing, but you do have to notify your employer and/or the insurer that you’ve changed healthcare providers.
After you’ve begun collecting worker’s compensation benefits, your employer and/or insurance company has the right to request that you see a physician of their choosing for an examination. Refusing this request can result in an order from a worker’s compensation judge that compels you to undergo an examination or risk getting your benefits suspended.
How Much Does Worker’s Compensation Pay and for How Long?
Worker’s compensation pays about two-thirds of your average weekly pay, but it can be offset by Social Security benefits, unemployment compensation, the percentage of a pension paid by the employer, and any other income you collect.
The length of time you can receive worker’s compensation depends on your status. That is, if you’re given a rating of 35% impairment as a result of your injuries, you’re considered totally disabled and can claim compensation for up to 104 weeks. In the event you’re considered partially disabled, you can receive benefits for up to 500 weeks. You can also receive partial disability for up to 500 weeks if you are able to return to work at a lower-paying position.
Getting Help From a Worker’s Compensation Lawyer
The worker’s compensation process in Pennsylvania is straightforward, but the insurer may try to undermine your claim or not pay what you’re entitled to. Contact us at Katz Injury Law today to learn more about the worker’s compensation claim process, and how we can help you with your worker’s compensation claim. When you retain a slip and fall lawyer in Delaware County, you’re getting representation from someone more than qualified to protect your rights and keep an eye out for your interests.